top of page
  • Writer's pictureTina

One Of My Favorites

Updated: Jul 30, 2019

Every once in a while, you come across a story that just seems too fake, too exaggerated, too ridiculous to be real. As an unfortunate consequence of working in retail, I have come to realize that these ridiculous stories aren't even close to how insane real life can be. In my years as a retail employee, I've actually had a number of these happen to me.


This is one of my favorites.


This happened to me when I worked in what most would call a "big box electronics" store. It had sections and departments, where various items were sub-categorized for easier shopping. The section I worked in was labeled "software" and consisted mainly of movies, music, video games and computer programs. To give you some idea of the era this occurred in, it was roughly towards the middle of 2009 or so. I was at work, calmly organizing and re-alphabetizing a section of movies when a middle-aged woman walked up to me to ask for help.


It's standard practice for all retailers that customers take a priority over anything else you happen to be doing, so I stopped what I was doing and asked her what I could do for her.


Customer: "Excuse me. Can you help me?"

Me: "Of course, ma'am! What can I help you find today?" Customer: "I'm looking for the Bluetooth movies."


Now, when something is new, particularly a format for entertainment, people will often get names wrong. New video game consoles often get misnamed by those who are trying to buy gifts for others and don't play games themselves. Blu-Ray had only been the dominant high definition format for about a year and a half, and if she wasn't someone who purchased movies on a regular basis, that kind of simple mistake was easily understandable. So I did what anyone else would have done. I soldiered on.


Me: "Oh, you mean Blu-Ray movies. They're right here," I continued, turning to lead her across the aisle to where our selection was. "Was there a particular movie you were looking for that I could help you find?"

Customer: "No, not Blu-Ray! I said Bluetooth! Bluetooth movies!"


At this point I was a little taken aback. Here I was, trying to be helpful, and she was yelling at me as if I were an idiot. Now, I am the kind of person who will respond well to constructive criticism, and if I've made a mistake I want to know so I can avoid the embarrassment of ever making it again. But this was just too much. Still, I remained professional even as I decided to stand my ground.


Me: "Uh, there's no such thing as a Bluetooth movie, ma'am. But we do have a wide selection of Blu-Ray movies..."

Customer: (Cutting me off) "I'm not looking for no Blu-Ray movie! There's no such thing as Blu-Ray! Where's your manager? I want to speak to your manager!"


The fastest way to trigger a retail employee is to scream for his or her manager. Particularly when that employee happens to be a manager. I could have told her that I was a manager, as I was the floor supervisor for the department at the time, but at that moment my own manager went by and I chose a different path. I flagged her down and introduced her to the customer.


Me: "Boss! I'm so sorry to bother you, but I have a customer who needs to speak with you."

Boss: "Oh, it's all right. What seems to be the problem, ma'am?"

Customer: (Angrily) "I'm looking for the Bluetooth Movies!"

Boss: "Oh, you mean Blu-Ray. They're right here..."

Customer: (Cuts my boss off) "No, I don't mean Blu-Ray! I mean Bluetooth! Bluetooth! This is ridiculous! I'm going to go somewhere the employees aren't all stupid!"


She stormed off, fuming, and my manager and I just kind of stood there for a few seconds, stunned. My manager looked at me and I raised my hands defensively and said:


Me: "Don't look at me! I didn't put her up to it!"


Mistakes are something we all make. We're human. We're not perfect. It takes a great deal of courage and fortitude to admit when you've made one, and just as much to fix it. Part of being an adult means you can't simply have a tantrum if you make an error, or insist that you're right when all the evidence points to you being wrong. Most retail employees would love to get a reasonable customer; someone who isn't afraid to say he or she doesn't understand. I would gladly take a million of those over every story like this one.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Denied!

bottom of page