top of page
  • Writer's pictureTina

Do You Work Here?

Something that comes up surprisingly often is the subject of people being asked if they'd be willing to help a customer even when they don't work at a store. I had a fantastically comfortable blue hoodie I loved to wear, but every time I set foot in a Best Buy I'd be asked at least three separate times if I could help someone. I have not, nor have I ever, worked at a Best Buy. Yet because I'm wearing blue I must be employed there. It got so bad I stopped wearing that hoodie, and what's strange is that I still sometimes get asked for help when I'm shopping.


If that weren't bad enough, I have a story for you. It happened many, many years ago, when I was working in a completely different retail electronics store. Dress code at that store was black dress slacks and a white button-up shirt. Men were required to wear ties, no visible tattoos or piercings (other than a single ear piercing for women) were allowed, and shoes had to be shine-able dress black shoes. Unfortunately, the only thing distinguishing us from your average office employee were the shiny white name badges clipped to the upper left of our shirts. Otherwise, we all looked just like extras in an episode of The Office.


One day, as I'm peacefully working, I hear a commotion. A woman is loudly complaining about how the employee she was berating wouldn't help her. Now, being in a managerial position, I immediately head for the commotion. I'm not sure if I'll be defending one of my employees from her or defending her from the employee. So imagine my surprise when I step out of the aisle I'd been working in to see two people I don't recognize at all standing toe-to-toe against a display rack. A middle-aged woman with frazzled hair, loose summer clothes and flip-flops is confronting a slightly taller, slightly younger-looking gentleman in a suit. The woman is in this man's face, shaking her finger, yelling about how she was going to get his manager and see him fired. For those who've worked retail, I'm sure you already are hearing her shrill voice in your head. I'm also sure you know exactly how this goes.


Lady: (sees me somehow and turns her head to look at me) "Are you a manager? This employee is not giving good customer service at all!"


Man: "Look, I don't work here, lady. Back off."


Me: "Ma'am, he doesn't work here."


Lady: "What do you mean, he doesn't work here? He's dressed like everyone else, here, isn't he?"


Me: "Ma'am, just because he's in a suit, that doesn't mean he works here. I'd be happy to help you with what you need..."


Lady: "I need a manager!"


Me: "I am a manager, ma'am."


Lady: "Well then get me your manager!"


At this point we'd gathered quite a crowd, including my store manager, who pushed his way forward to intervene.


Store Manager: "I'm the store manager, ma'am. What seems to be the problem?"


Lady: "You need to fire this man! His customer service skills are terrible! He refused to help me find the program I need!"


Store Manager: "Ma'am, this gentleman is not an employee of my store. Now, if you'll come with me..."


He gently moved her away from the other customer and led her off to the computer programs. The crowd dispersed, and I was left with the harassed gentleman.


Me: "Sir, I am so sorry..."


Man: "Hey, not your fault. We both tried to tell her, but she didn't want to listen."


Me: "Still, I feel bad you went through that. Did you at least find what you were shopping for?"


Man: "Yeah, I got it. Thanks, though. And, hey, good luck with that crazy b****."


The moral of this story is that you should always, always check and make sure that a person is actually employed by the store you're shopping in before you ask that person for help. Nor is it ever acceptable to be in someone's face just because you're upset. Basically, just behave like a rational human being and think before you act.


If you don't, not only do you come off looking like a lunatic, but you end up immortalized in someone's blog posts a decade later.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Denied!

bottom of page