top of page
  • Writer's pictureTina

Writing Tips: Making an Impact

It's always amazed me that no matter how much I learn, there's always something new to discover. In writing books, short stories, and even that brief phase in college when I wrote poetry (it was terrible; don't ask) I've always managed to come out just a little bit better than I was before I went in. I learned a single trick or picked up a fancy turn of phrase that brought my writing just that little bit further from "See Spot Run" and closer to what it is today. I'm not an expert. I will never be an expert. As a writer, that is something I have come to accept. It is impossible to be perfect at every form of writing, every single time I write something.


So today I'm going to share with all of you the little thing I learned from my recent experience writing an op ed.


For those who don't quite know the meaning of the term, "op ed" is short for "opposite the editorial page" and is typically a brief piece written by someone not a part of the publication's editorial board that is about a current event designed to express a personal opinion. These days everyone can post an opinion on Facebook, call it an op ed, and share it with anyone who happens by. The thing I learned from writing my own, though, is that writing a real one instead of just a Facebook post is harder than you think.


I had to do some actual research before I began, to see if there was some kind of commonly accepted format for op eds that was universal to all publications (there isn't), or a formula for how to lay one out to make the most sense (also not there). What I did find, however, were common threads that made it easier for me to tune my writing into something more meaningful.


The most important factor of an op ed? Keep it short and sweet.


Short sentences. Clear verbiage. A personal touch, with specific recommendations on how to create change. Tell your audience why they should care, and make your argument a single point. Ram that single point home however you can, and don't be passive.


Once I started thinking of it as a speech, it became a bit easier to write. You have five minutes to make an argument for your case. Do you really have time to argue with Karen in Accounting over the boardroom seating arrangements? Or should you ignore the petty side stories to focus on the main plot? By limiting myself on words, I was able to refine what I wanted to say until I felt it would make a greater impact.


In writing, words are power. In an op ed, the more words you use, the less powerful they become. Like the difference between a single photo and a two hour movie. Which will you remember better? Which has a greater impact on your psyche? Do you even remember every scene in a two hour movie? Not unless you've seen it hundreds of times, or have an eidetic memory. Most people aren't going to look past your headline and the first paragraph unless you grab them right away. Your introduction is that single poignant photo that evokes an emotional response.


Make it short. Make it strong. Make an impact.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page