top of page
  • Writer's pictureTina

A Moment of Gratitude

With the millions of things always going on in the day, it seems impossible to take a moment to simply breathe. Each and every one of us grown adults look at the day and wonder where the time went. There's always so much to do and no time to do it all in. As a working mom, going to school and still trying to find the time to do anything one would consider recreation is a balancing act that leaves me exhausted by the time I get to Friday. Yet I somehow have managed to get it to work (mostly), so far.


I consider myself a fortunate one.


After all, I have a loving husband and two children old enough to do many things for themselves. I'm not a single parent. I'm not trying to do all this while caring for a baby or young toddler. I only have two children. I have no pets, no clubs, no outside affiliations taking up my time aside from my employer. I have what most would consider very little debt to manage and a steady income to pay it off with. My children have a roof over their heads and food on the table. My family has insurance.


This is why I consider myself fortunate.


It's worth taking the time, every now and then, to consider where I am, where I'm going, and where I could have been. To look at all the people who are far less fortunate, and remind myself that many are not there of their own volition, but because circumstances have forced them there. One of the hardest things to do is look objectively at one's own life and consider what we have to be grateful for. As an editor, that consideration is something we should never take for granted. We are responsible for helping authors realize their full potential. If we fail, an important voice might never be heard.


That is why I've chosen to complete a Certificate in Editing from the University of Washington. I'm in a position now where I can afford both financially and physically to take on the burden of going back to school. It's not an easy burden, nor is it one taken up lightly. I fully understand that this will be a financial burden on the family account, as well as a physical burden upon myself as I try to wrap my brain around concepts both old and new. I'm learning the differences between copyeditors and proofreaders at the moment, and am trying to figure out how what I'm learning will fit into the niche I plan on carving for myself. I'm also trying to learn how to market myself and my skills, something I've never been very good at. While I will admit to some success with the one, I have, so far, had no success with the other.


All those considerations aside, I am thankful for what I have. It's far too easy for that little bit to disappear.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page